Using the App

Using the App

Everything you need to know to start using DocuSAFE

Why Use This App?

This app was designed to help survivors document the technology abuse, harassment, and stalking they are experiencing. This may include threatening messages, harassing social media posts, unwanted repeat calls, or online impersonation, among other abusive behaviors. By storing documentation of abuse in one central location, you may be able to more easily identify the kind of abuse that is occurring and the extent to which it is occurring, including possible escalation and patterns in behavior. If you were to choose to pursue legal action against the abusive person, this app may be used to document and store evidence of the abuse that can be shared with law enforcement or a judge during a legal proceeding. Please note that there is no guarantee of what types of evidence and documentation will be accepted by a court. It's best to discuss this with a local attorney, law enforcement, or victim service provider.

Setting a Passcode 

A 4-digit PIN will be required in order to use this app. This is to increase the security and privacy of the important information you are collecting. Use a set of numbers that you will remember, but someone else won’t likely guess. For privacy and safety purposes, your personal information is not collected through this app. That means that your PIN cannot be recovered or reset if you forget it. In the case that you cannot remember the PIN, you will need to delete the app and download it again. If you suspect any unauthorized activity in the app, be sure to change your PIN.

Logging In

After creating an account, login simply consists of Signing in with Apple ID (or Face ID/Touch ID, if used) for iOS or Signing in with Google account for Android and adding your PIN. If there are 3 consecutive failed login attempts, the app will be locked for a brief period of time.

Once logged in, you will see a list of the most recent activity on the app. You can use this to easily see if anyone else has accessed your account or attempted to log into the app. Tapping on “View All” will show you all the activity.

Adding Documentation

To add documentation, tap the “Documentation” icon in the bottom navigation panel. Follow the steps given to add details. Once you have finished adding details (type, name, date, etc.), hit the purple “Done” button. You can then add any images, video, audio, screenshots, screencasts to that incident log. When all documentation is added, tap the “Finish” button.

Each time you add documentation, you are logging an individual incident or a series of incidents. You can choose which type of content you are documenting – an email, text or instant message, image, or social media. You can then either upload a screenshot, image, audio, or video of the content from your device’s gallery, or you can take an image or video from within the app. After this step, you can add some additional information and context if you choose. Safety Note: If you upload from your gallery, the screenshot or image will also continue to remain in your gallery unless you delete it.

Review the Tips for Documenting Abuse section to ensure you are capturing all the details you may need when you’re documenting and uploading content.

Reviewing Documentation

Your recent activity and access to your full activity log will always be immediately available on the Home Screen of the app. There is also a “Documentation” icon on the bottom navigation bar. Once in the full Documentation Log, you can sort the documentation by date or content type (email, message, image).

Getting Help

From the home screen, tap “Get Help”. From there, you can choose “Talk to Someone Now” for a list of hotlines and resources or “Using the App” for more information on navigating the app itself. If you need immediate assistance, Contact 911 if it’s safe to do so. See the Talk to Someone Now section for more resources.

Logging Out

Tap the “More” icon in the bottom navigation. Under “Account”, tap “Log Out”. Users are also automatically logged out once they go outside of the app or if the app is idle for a period of time. Users do not have the capabilities to adjust the log out period if the device is idle. 

Deleting Your Account

Tap the “More” icon in the bottom navigation. Under “Account”, tap “Delete”. You will be prompted to confirm. You will have to input your 4 digit PIN again. Tap “Confirm Delete” to delete your account. Please note that once deleted, content cannot be restored. This action will not delete the app from your device, it will only delete all content (documentation uploaded and saved in the app) and the account that was created for the app.

Back-Up Options

To back-up your documentation so that it’s saved in another location, you can use the cloud account that you’re connected with (either iCloud or Google) to save your content, or you could email yourself documentation (see the Using My Documentation for instructions for printing or sharing by email). In any case, consider whether someone else may have access to the cloud account or the email before saving or sending documentation.

Sharing Content With Others

You have the option to securely share some or all of your documentation with others. This may be a trusted friend or family member, law enforcement, an attorney, or court personnel. By clicking the “Share” button, you can walk through an option to send content to someone. The recipient will receive a secure link by email, but will still need a code provided by you to open the link and see the content. This adds an additional layer of security in the event that someone else gets the link, or you no longer want to share that content. Once you have sent the content by email, you can share the code with the person by phone, email, or a messaging app (you will be prompted to choose how you’d like to send it. For extra security, share the code in a different way than you sent the link.) You can also print your documentation if you choose. Learn more in the Sharing Content with Others section.