Privacy & Safety

If you are in immediate danger, please Call 911 if you feel it is safe to do so.

To talk with someone about what you’re experiencing and to find local resources, see the list of hotline numbers in our Talk to Someone Now section. You deserve to feel safe. No abuse is ok.

  • Safety Alert: An abusive person can use spyware to secretly monitor what you do on your device. If you are concerned that someone is monitoring your device, read What To Do If Your Device Has Been Compromised.
  • If you want to delete this app, tap the "More" icon in the bottom navigation. Under Account tap Delete. You will be prompted to confirm. Note: Even if you delete this or any other app from your device, the history of the download will still exist on the device, your App Store/Google Play store account, and possibly within any backups or synced records.
  • This app will automatically log you out if your phone is idle or in sleep mode. Note: other apps may keep you logged in by default and require you to manually log out. For increased privacy, log out of accounts with sensitive information when not in use.
  • The passcode on the app helps prevent others from seeing your documentation in the event that someone gets physical access to your device. Securing the device itself is an additional step to increase your privacy and safety. Read these tips on Securing Your Device for more information.
  • Learn more about how to safely Share Your Documentation with trusted contacts.

For photos and videos it is important to remember that photos and videos can collect identifiable information such as location and the date and time it was taken. When uploading a picture or video to the app, it is important to make sure the geotag (geographical identification) feature is turned off in your camera settings before a photo or video is taken if you are concerned about your privacy. When shared via email, the geotag details may be accessible to others if they were to scan the photo or video for that metadata. Metadata is the information or content that lives inside of an item. It’s important to note that this metadata may still be attached to any photos, videos, or screenshots taken prior to turning off the geotag feature. For this reason, be mindful of who you share these particular photos with. If you are unsure of how to turn these features off, check your camera or general settings on your device. Be thoughtful about taking photos in front of landmarks and identifiable locations. This could possibly disclose your location and place you at risk if you have relocated or want to keep your location private. Note: EXIF (Exchangeable Image File Format) data may be included in your photo. EXIF data can contain information about the type of camera used to take a photo and other information such as the location of where the photo was taken.  Please see Glossary for more info.

Technology can be misused as a tactic of abuse, but can also be strategically used to increase our privacy and safety.                                 

Note: Clicking on links will open your browser the pages you visit may then be visible in the web history on your device. If this is a safety concern, you can visit www.TechSafety.org on a safer device to access this content.